Reviews

8.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.9
Property location
8.6
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.1
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Alison
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 May 2018

    Traditional luxury hotel with hot springs and excellent service

    Nothing. It was perfect
    The hotel was superb and very unique with fantastic attention to detail and luxury. It felt relaxing and had all the traditional Japanese features but also with modern accessories like an electric toilet,power shower, coffee machine etc. There were private sessions available for the hot stones and hot spring outside bath tub in a special room for guests to book time slots in for free, which were fantastic and a must if you stay there and want to do them together as a couple - especially as the public baths are separate for males and females in the hotel. You also go into the public baths naked, so you may want to book the private rooms if you are a bit shy about that as we were. All guests wear kimonos around the premises and the women get to pick one in the colour and size they like at reception, which is a nice touch. The men have a choice in the room. There are also traditional outfits for breakfast. Best of all the bar has a foot bath with the spring water running through so you soak your feet while having a drink. The staff are friendly and give an excellent service. They can’t do enough for you. Amazing place. Had the best night sleep I’ve had for a long time. This place is a must to experience if you are going to the Hakone or Gora area. Pay extra for the mountain view too as it is worth it!
    Michael
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    17 May 2018

    A great experience

    Room opposite a public convenience.
    Urso
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    17 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Trudy
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    15 May 2018
    It's not really in Hakone.. It's in Gora.. so this wasn't really made clear as a traveller from just looking at listings, but very close to station :)
    The Entrance/Bar area was fabulous! Great to have a drink after a long day walking whilst soaking your feet!
    Bryancjw
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    13 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jeynelle
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    11 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    fr

    Review score

    10
    11 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Virginia
    au

    Review score

    10
    10 May 2018

    What a treat

    .
    This place is a special treat. Located in a beautiful hill town with lovely mountain views. We had a huge room, loved the bar with foot bath, booked the private hot bath, the hot stone bath, the dinner and breakfast. Do it all! Food was extraordinary. Attention to detail amazing. And we loved changing into the robes provided which added to the relaxed and luxurious atmosphere. It is well located if you are going up the cable car and rope way as the station is only a couple of minutes walk away. The staff are delightful. I would love to come back.
    Marco Irinel
    ro

    Review score

    10
    3 May 2018

    Simply awesome.

    Michael
    us

    Review score

    10
    26 April 2018

    Fantastic stay at a modern ryokan with extraordinary staff and service.

    Nothing!
    Service was great as the staff were all so kind. Complimentary usage of the private bath and hot stone beds with a reservation. Free welcome drink and comfortable rooms. Close to the station.
    kirsbu
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    25 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Andrew
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    24 April 2018

    Wonderful staff but........

    The organisation of the front of house team was very poor. Not their fault because they were all very helpful but management need to improve their system of working. We often had to wait either at reception or for a drink because the same team try to do everything and disappear to take guests to their rooms with no cover left at bar or reception. The amazing Japanese dinner was also a bit difficult service wise with dishes appearing too quickly at times.
    Convenient location for station and amazing views from the mountain facing bedrooms. Staff were outstanding but overstretched. Food was beautifully presented and different both days. Good to make use of public and private bath facilities and hot stone bed all of which were included. We arranged Shiatsu massage at a cost and this was also very good. Easy to do the train and ropeway trip from the hotel location and the volcano and the lake are good to visit.
    Bon Zhao
    au

    Review score

    10
    22 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ian
    us

    Review score

    5.0
    18 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    il

    Review score

    9.2
    14 April 2018

    Luxury ryoken

    Room was not dark enough for the morning sun :)
    Luxury ryokan with all special amenities
    Ian
    nz

    Review score

    10
    14 April 2018
    Amazing private outdoor bath which you can book. Loved the feel of the room and yummy breakfast.
    Lee
    sg

    Review score

    9.6
    5 April 2018

    Unforgettable

    Incredible meals
    Vivian
    jp

    Review score

    6.2
    9 May 2018
    I do not think this is a child friendly ryokan. I have stayed at other ryokans that I have been more child friendly. My 6 year old daughter was served the adult menu. I pre-ordered a child meal for her, through Booking.com's customer service operator, and was surprised that she was given the adult menu, minus a couple of dishes. The restaurant refused to give her a child meal even though that is what I ordered. This is either a mistake or misunderstanding on Booking.com's part. More alarmingly, my two younger daughters, 4 and 2 years old got food poisoning from the potato salad. The potato salad was only in the child meal, so no one else in our group got sick. I am sure it is the potato salad because I had one or two bites myself, but did not eat anything else from their meal. I also got sick, but to a lesser extent than my children. They vomited several times on our Shinkansen ride back to Tokyo and proceeded to have diarrhea for several days afterward. When I wrote to the ryokan telling them what happened, they denied it could have happened because other patrons did not complain. Either they do not understand the priniciples of food safety or they do not want to just take responsibility and apologize. I was disappointed with their response. As you can imagine, the children getting sick like this ruined our family trip to Hakone.
    The rooms were new and spacious.
    Qidan
    cn

    Review score

    10
    6 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    min
    cn

    Review score

    5.0
    4 May 2018

    Poor service and quietness

    Service and quietness
    Extremely noisy in one of the night, a group of people were chatting and laughing laudly until midnight downstairs. Almost no service and front desk, there is no proper staff in the early morning to check out. Will not stay there again!
Loading reviews