Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.8
Property location
8.5
Facilities
8.6
Staff
9.0
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Lora
    it

    Review score

    5.0
    29 August 2018

    Poor value, high price

    - Dinner time: we arrived at 3.00 pm and they told us that the only left slot for dinner was 5.30 pm. Why nobody told us that we need to book dinner (17.30, 18.30, 19.30)?? They should write this information on Booking!! - Room: the room seems nice with stone hot tub inside, but there was a lot of mold in bathroom (see photos). Actually we used it and after dinner the room had 87% of humidity!!! Almost impossible to stay there!! Don't use it or take another room. - No blackout curtains! See photos of 5.30 am!! - Waste of money
    -European girl at reception, very kind and prepared
    Krzysztof Chmura
    pl

    Review score

    9.6
    10 August 2018
    Excelent dinner and breakfast. Great japanese-style room experience.
    Florence
    sg

    Review score

    10
    8 August 2018

    Unforgettable experience. Excellent stay

    Service of the staff made the difference in particular Mr Kaito Suto from the restaurant. He was professional and made the whole meal experience a heart warming and pleasant one. Facilities were first class and meal quality was excellent too. The public onsen was also clean and well maintained. An excellent stay We stayed in Gora Tensui to celebrate our daughter’s Sweet 16 and had a wonderful time
    Penter Prawidjaja
    id

    Review score

    5.4
    30 July 2018

    Disappointed because of smoking room

    I asked for non-smoking room, however I got a smoking room; while I have children below 18-year old
    The facility is allright
    oswald
    es

    Review score

    7.9
    23 July 2018

    good introduction to Japananesse Ryokan culture

    There were not too many places for dinner closeby.
    Location near station. Bar in lobby. Breakfast was very good. Helpful front desk Miss Chiara.
    ca

    Review score

    10
    22 June 2018
    They ended up letting me check out late free of charge (about 20 min). But I didn’t appreciate them threatening a $50 charge for being 10 minutes late.
    The Hotel has beautiful views and a lovely foot bath bar. I used both free spa services and the staff was very friendly. It was a lovely spa weekend. The hotel is in a perfect place for sight seeing.
    Annapham
    au

    Review score

    10
    18 June 2018

    Staying at Gora tensui was a relaxing, serene and culturally uplifting experience.

    The only thing I would’ve liked in the twin room with the stone bathroom, was a better view? I know I can’t be too choosy, but I know the view of the mountains are incredible on the other side.
    I stayed at Gora tensui in the twin room with stone bathroom- the room was incredible! It was very large and clean and had a warm comfortable feel as soon as you walk in. The private stone bathtub was the perfect touch! In addiction, the beds were super comfortable, and the bathroom also has double basins which is great! I loved the fact that we could choose our own yakuta to wear around the facility- this made my experience that little more culturally ‘Japanese’. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. I had called reception as my sheets needed to be changed, and within a minute or two, I had two staff members come and assist with the change and they were very friendly and polite- I was very impressed! I also loved the in-room shiatsu massage, very relaxing and in the privacy of your own room.
    Metha
    id

    Review score

    8.3
    17 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Joana
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    10 June 2018

    Great Japanese-style experience

    - Breakfast is a very complete full japanese meal, however you don't have any option of choosing something continental - Location is good enough, close to Gora station, however Gora offers very few transportation options and restaurants in the area close very early (around 6pm)
    - Very traditional and well kept Hotel - The japanese-style room was a very worthy experience, and very comfortable. The Hotel offers free 3 different Onsen experiences, which are very worthwhile - The full experience in Yukata, at the bar, Onsen and breakfast is certainly something to remember
    Alexandra
    jp

    Review score

    10
    7 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Genevieve
    au

    Review score

    10
    6 June 2018

    Beautiful, comfortable stay at a beautiful Onsen with wonderful staff

    Nothing, I loved everything!
    Wonderful friendly staff with excellent English skills, Fantastic massage and beautiful Onsen. What a lovely, relaxing stay I had, I would happily go back! From the moment I arrived I was looked after in a way that exceeded all my expectations.
    Madhavi
    in

    Review score

    4.6
    5 June 2018

    Very disappointing

    It looked a little rundown considering it’s price which is exorbitant! Had expected a much better place considering it had a very good reviews. Was very disappointed with the room.The onsen in the room looked very old too.
    Staff and service was good
    sg

    Review score

    7.9
    1 June 2018

    Lovely calm stay in an oasis of Japanese style.

    Amazing staff and lovely Japanes style touches. The breakfast was an absolute feast! Delicious. For the price, some of the amenities could do with updating and a freshen up. For example the outdoor jacuzzi. But other than that couldn’t fault it.
    Laura
    cy

    Review score

    8.8
    2 October 2018

    Very fancy traditional experience

    This was a wonderful, if pricey, way to experience Japanese traditional hotels. The onsen was amazing, the two meals were phenomenal, and the room was very big amd well appointed. It is a two minute walk from the train and furnicular, so is easy to do the Hakone circuit. This was my splurge of the trip, and I am so glad I did it.
    Dror Harari
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    8 August 2018

    A great traditional Japanese hotel in Hapone

    It was all good!
    - Great traditional Japanese breakfast - Nice bar with complementary drink - Lovely rooms - Clean and enjoyable hot baths
    Shannon
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    20 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    29 June 2018

    A beautiful ryokan just a 5 minute walk from Gora Station

    The cost of our stay and the lack of nearby restaurants.
    Our room featured a huge private cypress wood bath with mountain views and was conveniently split into a Western room with bed and a traditional Japanese-style tatami Room with futon sleeping accommodations. The staff was gracious, friendly and helpful. The public baths and private baths by reservation were all exceptional.
    Brenden
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    28 June 2018
    The onsen and bar were amazing. Ryokan style rooms were very cool too
    Ji Ming
    us

    Review score

    10
    23 June 2018
    Splendid and friendly staff. Hotel is conveniently located right near Gora station and bus stops. Onsens were very clean and provided lots of amenities. Stayed in Japanese style room and enjoyed using the provided yukatas.
    ESTEFANIA
    om

    Review score

    9.6
    21 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews